Hurry up and…wait

The day after being told my home will probably need to be demolished, I’m still waiting for the Engineer to design the safe cage so that work can begin on my business premises.  I wish he would hurry up!  To be fair, Engineers are like hens teeth in Christchurch – hard to find!  And the poor man is working all sorts of hours and is buried in paper work.  Unsurprising, really if CERA are requesting multiple Engineers’ assessments from everybody…

He promises it for today (September 28).

The neighbour has given me permission to demolish part of his shop frontage for our steel post in the joint party wall!  Yay and thanks.

It has been a year since the very first quake in September – did you know the Kobe experience indicates a 10-20 year time frame for recovery?  It is going to be a very long haul.  To add to the uncertainty, locking a city down as has been done here in Christchurch has never been done before.  As you can see from just my experience, it does not work.  Which idiot in Wellington conceived of this plan?!

Speaking of plans…Let’s have some more symbolic projects!  How about a statue?  Maybe a heap of rubble, a new park, another glass fronted building, or plant a tree? A light rail link to Akaroa??  A green city plan!  Whatever.  I am too tired to even bother reading the plans.  I need to work!  I am no good at home – which is technically less safe, surely, since it has been condemed.

So I’ve just updated my CV for the first time in 30 years.   Hmmm, not sure I want to find a new job – I think I will bury my head in the sand until after Christmas…

Leave a Reply

