How not to repair a Heritage Building in the Christchurch CBD.. Have another big shake!

Wa hoo, that was a roller coaster ride.  It went on for ever…  well maybe 60 seconds.  It is the first one in 6 years that had me under the doorway.

Quick up date: 

I checked High Street very early this morning. Just in case they lock us out again…..  There is not a brick out-of-place.  Some very very minor gib damage, and no immediately apparent structural damage. ( A few gib screws have popped).  A good result!

Surprisingly the whole row is still standing.

The Engineer will have to do Another Level 2 assessment, but it looks Very Good to me.

It looks to me as if Christchurch has been very lucky.

I am devastated that the Christchurch experience has not been heeded and many houses in Canterbury/Marlbrough have had unreinforced brick chimneys collapse through their roofs. A very simple safety inspection is very important…   Put it on your must do list!

Some links below for my out-of-town cousins!

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/86416304/live-north-canterbury-quake

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/86417711/cheviot-quake-one-missing-after-homestead-collapses-in-kaikoura

Stay safe today. I’m  off to check the water bottles.

 

One thought on “How not to repair a Heritage Building in the Christchurch CBD.. Have another big shake!

  1. Soon after I heard the news, I sent you a FB message enquiring how things are. I’m SOOO pleased you’re safe and sound!!! Love from here!! XXX

Leave a Reply

